Author Interview: Matthew Hanover

41loidi-4kl._sy346_

Today’s interview is with Matthew Hanover, author of the recently published Not Famous! It is currently available on Amazon.

About Your Novel:

What’s the title of your manuscript / novel?

My novel is called Not Famous. It was launched on January 15 and is available at Amazon:  http://getbook.at/NotFamous 

What genre is your novel?

I would say it’s a contemporary  sweet romance, coming of age novel, but it’s also what is called “lad-lit” (think Nick Hornby, Mike Gayle, Jonathan Tropper)

Give us a quick synopsis and tell us what your book is all about!

The story begins with the main character, Nick Forrester, proposing to his girlfriend on New Years Eve. It doesn’t end well, and they break up. After a couple months of depression, he meets Alli Conwell, an up and coming singer/songwriter. He finds himself smitten with her, and is really attracted to her talent and ambition. Eventually get into a relationship.  Their relationship isn’t easy. He is still coming to terms with the trauma of his last break-up, and she’s young and inexperienced. Nick doesn’t tell her about his failed relationship, or why it ended, and Alli herself has a past that she doesn’t want to tell him either. This and other situations introduce tensions in their relationship as we see their relationship against the backdrop of the independent music scene of Boston, Massachusetts.

What inspired you to write this book?

It was one of those things where writing a novel was just a bucket list item of mine for so long that about seven and half years ago I decided to give a go. I’d had a basic idea for a novel for a while, but never felt the confidence to start. So, it’s something I dabbled in over the course of seven years. About a year ago I got tired of making excuses and made a point to take the pieces of my novel and finish the first draft. Then I basically spent the next year editing, getting beta readers, getting an editor, finalizing the cover… I’m glad I did. I’m really proud of this novel, and I’m thrilled that the reviews so far are so positive!

Quick — pitch your novel in ONE sentence!

For fans of Nick Hornby, Mike Gayle, and Jonathan Tropper, Not Famous is a heartwarming and humorous tale of love, music, and the unexpected.

About Your Process:

Are you a plotter, pantser, or somewhere in between?

I guess you can say I’m somewhat in between.  Not Famous was my first novel, and as much I wanted to be methodical in the writing process, but what really happened was I could see different scenes throughout the book clearly at random times, and so I wrote them and then had to weave them all together. 

Where and when do you do most of your writing? 

The only time I can… at home, usually at night…  alone at my computer… I need to be isolated, away from people and distraction.

When did you first realize, “I want to be a writer”? 

I think I’ve always had an interest in storytelling. But never tried until recently. I know a lot of authors will say they were writing stories as early as they knew how to write.. That wasn’t me. 

Do you remember the first story you ever wrote? Tell us about it!

I know as a child I sometimes had to write a story as part of a school assignment. Even in high school, there were creative writing projects… I remember one time being in a group project where we had to script out a radio show and produce it. I can’t remember what it was about, but I remember taking it upon myself to write the entire script. I probably should have known then I was destined to write a novel one day.

Are there any novels or authors who inspire you?

Without a doubt, if it hadn’t been for Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity, I probably never would have tried writing my own novel. Reading that book made me realize that’s the stuff I love to read, and that’s the kind of story and characters I’d like to write. My novel isn’t totally different from High Fidelity, but anyone familiar with it will likely see the influence. I’d also say the novels of Jonathan Tropper and Matthew Norman have influenced me as well. 

Just For Fun:

What is your favorite book / who is your favorite author?

Since I already mentioned High Fidelity, I’ll add a couple more: This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper and Domestic Violets by Matthew Norman.

If your novel were to be adapted for film or TV, who is your dream cast? 

Oh boy… For Alli Conwell, I could see Kaitlyn Dever, who plays Eve on Last Man Standing, fitting the role.  For Nick Forrester, I could see Nicholas Hoult (if he can do an American accent) … after all, he did play a character from a Nick Hornby novel in About A Boy!

You have one day to spend in any fiction world of your choosing; which world is it and why?

The Harry Potter universe… hey, magic!

If you could give your younger self any piece of advice, what would you tell them?

Start creative writing now! Don’t wait 20+ years!

Where can your readers interact with you? (Please provide handles or links!)

Facebook: facebook.com/matthanoverfiction

Twitter: @matthewhanover

Instagram: instagram.com/matthanoverfiction

Bookbub: bookbub.com/authors/matthew-hanover

Amazon: amazon.com/author/matthewhanover

Website: matthewhanover.com

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s